I.O.H.I. Links

I.O.H.I.

The IOHI recommends these links:

 

Folklore Connections:

American Folklore Society (AFS): http://www.afsnet.org/

American Folklife Center, Library of Congress: http://www.loc.gov/folklife/Italian



Folklore Connections in America:


Mediterranean Folklore Section of the American Folklore Society: http://www.afsnet.org/sections/italian/ (Giovanna Del Negro, Convener: delnegro@NEO.TAMU.EDU)

Alan Lomax Archive & Association for Cultural Equity: http://www.alan-lomax.com/
(Anna Lomax Wood, Director: lomax@nyc.rr.com)

John D. Calandra Italian American Institute of Queens College (CUNY): http://www.qc.edu/calandra
(Joseph Sciorra, Assistant Dir. for Academic and Cultural Programs: jsciorra@qc.edu)



Folklore/Ethnography in Italy:


Museo Nazionale per le Arti e Tradizioni Popolari (Rome): http://www.popolari.arti.beniculturali.it/
(national folk art and ethnographic museum)

Istituto De Martino (Sesto Fiorentino): http://www.iedm.it/
(study center on folk and proletarian culture)

Circolo Gianni Bosio (Rome): http://www.circologiannibosio.it/
(oral history and alternative culture center)

Centro di dialettologia e etnografia (Canton Ticino, Switzerland): http://www.ti.ch/decs/dc/cde/

Centro Interdipartimentale di Documentazione Demoantropologica Unical (Calabria): http://www.unical.it/portale/strutture/centri/cidd/

Accademia nazionale di Santa Cecilia (Rome): http://www.santacecilia.it/italiano/index.htm
(Music academy and ethnomusicology archive)

Visual Anthropology: http://www.visualanthropology.net/videoit.htm
(Italian ethnographic videos)Folklore/Ethnography – International:

Société Internationale d’Ethnologie et Folklore (SIEF): http://www.meertens.nl/sief/
(European folklore and ethnology society)

Kommission für Volksdichtung (KfV)/International Ballad Commission/Commission Internationale pour l'Étude de la Chanson Populaire (SIEF): http://www.kfvweb.org/
(international traditional song study group)

International Council for Traditional Music (ICTM): http://www.ethnomusic.ucla.edu/ICTM/



Oral History:

International Oral History Association (IOHA): http://www.bcn.es/tjussana/ioha/

Oral History Association (USA): http://omega.dickinson.edu/organizations/oha

Oral History Online: http://historymatters.gmu.edu/mse/oral/online.html



Italian Americana:

American Italian Historical Association: http://www.aiha.fau.edu/

National Italian American Foundation: http://www.niaf.org/

Italian Los Angeles: (coming soon: www.ItalianLosAngeles.org)

Italian Consulate General of Los Angeles: http://sedi.esteri.it/losangeles/

Italian Cultural Institute: http://www.iicusa.org/

Italian Trade Commission: http://www.italtrade.com/

Italy-America Chamber of Commerce West: http://www.italchambers.net/LosAngeles/

Historic Italian Hall and Museum: http://firehousejailmuseum.tripod.com/hihf/

L’Italo-Americano (newspaper) http://www.italoamericano.com/links.htm



Miscellaneous:

L’Italia dei cognomi: http://www.gens.labo.net/it/cognomi/
(mapblast for Italian surnames in Italy, in the U.S.A.)

The IOHI Archive is listed in the LA as Subject Directory of Archives

 


Home | Search | About IOHI | Contribute | News Archives | Contact IOHI